Lwoods4's Blog

Michigan

Posted on: July 15, 2010

I just got back from my trip to Michigan! It was a lot of fun! Kiersten and I drove up on Sunday night and met Jess and Kristi at the hotel in Hart.  We stopped at Cracker Barrel for dinner. Interesting food and people, amazing candy!  On Monday morning, we had breakfast and went to the beach!  The water was so nice!  It was warm and clear and the beaches were much less crowded than they are in Chicago.  After a few hours, we had lunch at a place called Bubba Q.  The food was alright, but the ice cream was amazing! I had coffee lover’s in a waffle cone! Yum! It was coffee ice cream with chocolate pieces in it AND they put a smiley face on top! Here’s Kiersten’s.  The picture of mine was blurry. After that, we wanted to go explore Silver Lake’s sand dunes.  We decided on a jeep tour.  It was a blast!! I drove for half an hour and so did Kiersten.  Jess and Kristi said the back seat was bumpy! I did a rainbow on test hill.  That’s when you start at the bottom, and floor it up the hill and then turn and come back down.  It was so scary at first!  I also got to drive up and down some more hills.  We stopped at the top to take pictures of Lake Michigan and the scenery then switched drivers.  After the tour, we stopped by the hotel to change and get the sand off ourselves. Kiersten and I swam in the pool a little then we went to a place called Schooner’s for dinner.  It was so inexpensive! Then we headed back to the room to watch The Bachelorette and some of the home run derby. On Tuesday, we went horseback riding!  Jess got stuck on the horse that didn’t want to cooperate.  His name was Comet and he kept wanting to eat grass or slow down and fall behind the horse in front of him.  Then he would trot out of nowhere to catch up!  The path was very pretty.  My horse’s name was Mo.  The farm was also raising deer.  They were adorable!  I would have liked to trot more and have a more challenging ride, but it was relaxing and I always enjoy being around horses.  Then we stopped for lunch again and hit the beach! Kiersten and I ran in the sand to the lighthouse which was about 500 feet away.  We got to go inside it and look out at the beach from the top.  It was so cool! We wished we had our cameras.  The view was amazing! After running back, we all read on the beach for a while and cooled off in the water when we got too hot.  We stopped for fudge and at a local farmer’s market and then drove to Muskegon for dinner at Red Robin. I got chocolate covered cherries at the farmer’s market. They are so good!  We came back to the Silver Lake area for ice cream! This time I got Chocolate Monster.  It was everything I love in ice cream: chocolate ice cream with fudge and peanut butter!  We wanted to go in the hot tub when we got back, but it was closed. All in all it was a great trip! I wish we didn’t have to leave.   It was nice to escape the city for a little while and enjoy the atmosphere of a small town.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

