Lwoods4's Blog

My Life Lately

Posted on: July 28, 2010

I’m going to start with things that happened today and work my way back in time for the few days.

Today I woke up at 6:30 am to read my homework for summer school.  My class has managed to suck and be fairly inspiring at the same time.  I shall explain.  I don’t think anyone exactly desires to sit around talking about their higher education for the last 3,4,5, or maybe even more years for 3 hours twice a week in the middle of summer.  I, personally, do not enjoy waking up prior to 8 am.  However, it is my own fault for being the world’s biggest procrastinator when I do have to wake up at the crack of dawn.  Anyway, some of the horrendously long articles we have to read are actually pretty interesting.  The St. Vincent DePaul one for today, not so much.  Cut the pictures, save the paper, sum up the point.  However, the article about civic duty and learned helplessness inspired me to get off my butt and stop putting things off til tomorrow.  Civic duty is a fancy and unnecessary term for becoming socially involved, volunteering, standing up for what you believe in, having the courage to act when you see injustice in the world, things like that.  It made me want to be less shy when speaking to people, talk more in class, and have my opinions heard even if it means some people won’t agree with me.  I have a tendency to rely on others too much and reading this article made me want to become more independent and help others less fortunate than I by being a voice for them.

So today I went to the Twin Lakes Township meeting (alone) since Jeremy is out of town.  We have gone to 2 before.  He wants to work on the skate park so we’ve been going to bounce ideas off the board members and get an idea of how much they want to spend and what they want to see built.  Today it was my job to figure out some sort of budget and timeline.  To supplement the budget, I thought we might need to do some fundraising so I brought some ideas with me.  I thought we could do a bake sale and car wash.  One of the board members said a soccer team recently did that and raised over $900! That would definitely be a good place to start.  I would like to see the boy scout who was at the last meeting interested in the skate park work on that project.  I’ll help bake of course.  We could also probably sell lemonade.  Another idea I had was to sell art work.  I could try to come up with some paintings on my own or ask my artistic friends for donations to sell.  But my big idea behind selling artwork was Jeremy’s photographs.  He has some amazing pictures.  We went to the zoo after I picked him up at the air port once and we came face to face with a lion right up against the glass.  He took some sweet pictures of it yawning.  He also took some photographs of the storm by his house the other day.  He’s very talented.  Jeremy also said he could try to get some friends together to do a bmx show at the Kenosha County Fair for donations for the Twin Lakes skate park.  I bet that would be a good turn out.  My final idea was to have a yard sale.  I have things I could get rid of and I bet some of my friends and family would too.  Brainstorming volunteering ideas and sharing them with the board members was really exciting!  I can’t wait to get going on these projects. I’m looking forward to partaking in society the way the article for class said.  Look how smart I am, relating things I learned in class to real life.

On the way to the meeting my car decided to turn into a race car and embarrass me with its noisiness.  I think something is wrong with the muffler.  Silly Gertrude.  When I got home, I ate about 2 bowls of Life and ran 1 measly mile.

Yesterday I drove Jeremy to Midway.  I much prefer O’Hare.  Airports make me nervous, but if I’m going to be at one, I prefer to at least be where I am familiar.  Jeremy’s flight was at 6:25 and I got him there at 5.  He still made it, but we cut it very very close! Traffic was bad and we stopped for food and to put air in one of my tires.

On Sunday, I woke up, went for a run and worked out and then wanted to take a nice refreshing shower before work.  Welllll we temporarily ran out of hot water at my apartment.  I did as much washing as I could stand and decided against washing my hair.  I actually heated up water on the stove and started pouring it on myself.  I did get my hair wet though so I decided to french braid a section of it.  I was and still am so proud that I finally learned how to french braid my own hair!  When Jeremy saw it, though, he insisted that he could do it better even though he’s never french braided anything.  I didn’t let that kill my excitement though.  So Starbucks is doing their “treat receipt” again which I love and hate at the same time.  If you buy something in the morning, you can come back after 2 pm and get a grande drink for $2.  Now, I buy tea before I go into work and a frappachino on my break.  It is actually cheaper to do it this way than to get a frappachino in the morning alone. A grande frappachino is $4.74.  If I get a tall iced passion fruit tea in the morning ($1.73) and a grande frappachino for $2 post 2 pm I actually save money.  Of course, I did this on Sunday since Starbucks is right next door to work.  By the way, Underthings still has a sale going on!  I purchased another pair of OnGossamer super comfy underwear since D.J. so kindly chewed up my first pair.  After work, I went to Jeremy’s where I helped him put tile down in the kitchen.  It looks so nice! It’s in a sweet pattern.  He actually laid it out on the deck before I got there and I just brought him one piece at a time. I still felt important, he was able to get more done with me running to the deck to get the next piece while he put more grout on the floor.

Saturday was Lindsay’s party/BBQ/cookout!  I got there at 1:30 in the afternoon, after running a few miles and spending an hour trying to get off the Eisenhower due to the 4 feet of standing water on it.  It worked out though because I was there just in time for the rib competition!  It was a lot of fun.  I ate a ton! The food was so good.  I can’t remember the last time I had ribs. There was a guy about our age cooking wearing a huge hot dog hat! He and Kit ended up getting 2nd place in the competition for best ribs. We kicked around a soccer ball a little, played bags, and went swimming!  There was a band playing too.  Kiersten and Anya showed up later, around 7:30, but I’m glad I got there when I did to experience the food and meet Lindsay’s relatives and of course to hang out with my soul mate!

It is past my bed time! I have to go to sleep so I can get up and run a bigillion miles in the morning.. since I haven’t been! I set my first alarm for 6:30.  At this point, I just hope I can finish the 1/2 marathon.  5 days til race day! I have to go pick up my race packet and number on Saturday at McCormick Place.  Last time I was there was for the Candy Convention!!!! Free candy is so much more fun than running.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

