Lwoods4's Blog

I’m in Spain!

Posted on: November 22, 2010

It’s noon on Monday at home, which means its 7pm on Monday in Madrid! We got to the hotel at 3 am Chicago time, which was 9 or 10 local time.  The flight wasn’t too bad.  I fell asleep for a little while at first before dinner was served.  I ordered the chicken which consisted of chicken, mashed potatoes, and green beans.  There was also a side of mush that I opted to skip and a cheese cake slice for dessert.  I ate the chicken, mashed potatoes, and bread. I didn’t think it was too bad! After dinner, I slept some more and read a few chapters in a book called ‘Remember Me?’ It’s about a girl who lost 3 years of her memory. It sounds so good! I also watched Salt on the plane.  Angelina Jolie is so beautiful in any hair color, any accent, it’s crazy.  I’m still a Jen fan though.  Anyway, the movie was pretty good, though at times it seemed like unnecessary action just to show that Salt could kick some serious butt.  Her first name is Evelyn in the movie and I decided I really like that name.  Then, I listened to The Starting Line and dozed off some more.  I tried not to check the time because I was afraid it would be crawling, but when I looked it was 12:08 am which means we had a little over an hour to go.  Breakfast was also served on the flight.  I was not very hungry since it was so late at home.  I ate the cantaloupe and packed the ham and cheese croissant, mini muffin, and kit kat bar in my backpack.  I also had a few bites of my smiley face cookie from the bakery that my dad got 🙂  After breakfast it was about half an hour til we landed.  We touched down around 8:06 am here, 1 am at home! I was excited to see Kiersten so I wasn’t focusing on how tired I was. Puls, SPAIN! How cool! The airport was pretty neat and I got my first stamp on my passport! It has a little airplane in the corner with the date.  It was very modern with glass walkways that you could see people’s footsteps on from underneath.  That was my favorite part!  It was very hip and clean.  We got our stuff and went to go find Kiersten! She met us just outside the airport. It was so good to see her! She definitely knows what she’s talking about.  She blended right in and her Spanish skills are seriously impressive.  She helped us buy tickets for the Metro and we were on our way.  We had to take 3 different lines to get to our hotel.

The hotel is so nice! My room is so big! Right now, I’m sitting on a couch in a little sitting area with a coffee table.  I also have a desk, mini fridge, 2 single beds, storage space, a TV, and a bathroom with 2 sinks and ROBES! I’ve always wanted to stay at a hotel where you get to wear a robe! I’m so excited to take a shower and put one on! The room is very nice.  I made myself some tea  a few minutes ago after taking a nap.  There’s also lights under the nightstand that change color! It’s so cool. I’ll have to take pictures.

After checking in and getting situated at the hotel, we headed right back out to go see Spain! It was about 4am Chicago time at this point.  We went to Plaza de Espana.  Kiersten took us past the mansion where the royal family lives. I’ll have to ask her the name of it.  We went inside the church there too.  There was very intricate detail in the columns, the ceiling, everywhere! It was beautiful.  The organ was huge.  It reminded me a little of the church I was in at Notre Dame with my dad recently.  We then continued on to another Plaza.  Again, I’ll have to ask Kiersten the name of it.  I was paying attention, but I think I was so tired I forgot. We stopped there for lunch.  Kiersten spoke to the waiter and ordered for us.  We were a little early for the lunch crowd, around 11:45am, which was 5:45am at home! It felt so weird, but I was getting hungry since the last thing I ate was dinner on the plane.  We shared fried ham and cheese, potatoes with mayo and garlic, a Spanish tortilla, and grilled asparagus.  I liked all of it! I didn’t try the asparagus, though.  I know what it tastes like already and I’m not that big of a fan.  Plus Kiersten and Kelly really liked it. After lunch we walked verrrrry slowly back to the hotel since everyone was exhausted.  We took a nap since we were all so tired and not used to the time change yet.  I slept for about 3 hours! I got up and unpacked since we will be here for a week and emailed my family.

Internet is free in the hotel, which is awesome! I haven’t turned my cell phone on yet. It’s so weird going places without it, but I also like it. I didn’t think I would be this overwhelmed by the Spanish language. It’s been a long time since I’ve spoken it.  Junior year of high school we did a whole unit on Spain, but of course, I can’t remember any of it! I’ll have to keep paying attention and listening.  I already hate what I packed to wear! I knew that would happen. Maybe I’ll just have to go shopping then! The street sings here are on buildings sometimes.  The streets are very crowded with cars. I love the style of the buildings and houses.

When Kiersten gets back from class we are going to go out to dinner.  It’s so crazy that it’s noon at home and I’m talking about going to dinner! I’m sure I’ll get used to it in a few days.. So far what I’ve seen of Spain has been so cool! I can’t wait to go see more of it.  I’m in Europe! I’m so excited to be here. It’s going to be a great week!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

