Lwoods4's Blog

Saturday and the flight home

Posted on: November 29, 2010

Saturday was fun also!  It was more of a do whatever we felt like day which was nice.  We left the hotel around 10:30 am and walked to the bakery on Calle Mayor.  Kelly and I got chocolate croissants, but the chocolate tasted kind of funny.  We were just about all set to go, but Mrs. T wanted to get bread sticks that she saw inside. She bought them and she thought they owed her 5 Euros since she paid with a 10 and only got a few back in change.  She went back inside to sort it out and Kelly and I went inside a souvenir shop to try to stay warm.  We did one lap around the store and stood outside waiting for the rest of the family.  After about 5 minutes, we started thinking that something must have gone wrong and they probably got in a big argument with the management.  We walked over to the bakery and looked in the window and didn’t see them! Maybe they were in the back? We didn’t want to go in and cause more trouble so we stood back by the souvenir shop.  Maybe they were abducted! We started thinking about what we should do.  I said if all else fails, Mrs. T. told us before if anyone gets lost we should meet back at the hotel.  We looked in the window of the bakery once more.  Still nothing.  We were walking back to our post, when we saw Kiersten! They had been waiting for us a little further down the street, but we couldn’t see them because of the buildings! We were so relieved to know we didn’t get lost in Spain!  Once we were all reunited, we went to another royal garden.  It was beautiful.  I took a cool picture of 2 little girls jumping rope with the palace in the background. We wandered around and found a little place with a garden and a fountain.  We were taking pictures and enjoying the atmosphere when the royal peacocks came out! Everyone went crazy over the peacocks.  There was another family with a little boy who started feeding them Cheetos. We were all fascinated with the birds.  Kelly imitated a mating call and got one of the males to open its feathers! It was beautiful! I got some good pictures of that.  After leaving the peacocks alone, we took some pictures on the lawn with the palace in the background.  The 3 of us did cartwheels while Mr. T. took pictures.  There were some cool ones!

After hanging out in the garden, we headed in the direction of the store Kiersten wanted to take Kelly to.  Mr. T, Mrs. T., and I had coffee while they went and looked around the store. After that, we walked in the direction of Plaza Mayor looking for something to eat.  We went to a Spanish restaurant and had a big meal.  Kiersten said it was good that they didn’t have English menus out right away and that there were people speaking Spanish at the restaurant.  These things meant it wasn’t as touristy as some of the other places we had eaten at.  Kiersten and I split a Spanish tortilla and vegetable paella. It was amazing! The tortilla is one of my favorite things we ate there at they paella was very good.  After eating, we decided to look around the Christmas market in Plaza Mayor because I wanted to find something nice to bring home for my parents.  I bought them a wreath with a snowman that says Feliz Navidad.  It is very cute.  I also got a few little ornaments.  Next, we went back in the direction of the hotel.  We decided to skip the Italian dinner we had planned because everyone was still pretty full from lunch.  We did stop at the old man bakery, as we came to call it, and got a few more chocolate croissants.  Kiersten had to stop at her host family’s house to get her school books so we went back to the hotel.  We wanted to go in the hot tub when Kiersten arrived back at the hotel, but it closed at 8 and we went downstairs at 10 after 8! Kiersten, Kelly, and I watched 300 instead.  I liked the movie, but blood and guts are not really my thing.  It was short.  After the movie, Kiersten and I started packing up our stuff to go home.

On Sunday morning, I took a quick shower and finished packing.  I had to sit on my suitcase, but I got it closed! I added 5 kilograms from when it was last weighed at O’Hare.  I’m glad my dad insisted I take the bigger suitcase!  Kiersten had breakfast with us at the airport, then we said our goodbyes.  We were all sad to leave Kiersten behind.  It was as hard as when she left the first time! She has 3 more weeks before she comes home. I’m sure they’ll go by fast.  The plane ride was so long! I fell asleep before we even left the runway, which we were sitting on for almost an hour.  It was about a 9 hour flight.  I read 8 or 9 chapters in my book and watched The Sorcerer’s Apprentice.  I slept a lot, but when I was not sleeping I was bored! Lunch was pasta or meat balls. I chose pasta.  The noodles were green and there was an unfamiliar queso on top.  I picked at it, but opted for more bread when the flight attendant came around and some crackers I brought with me.  Dinner was a sandwich with again, mysterious white queso, and turkey.  It was ok.  It needed some lettuce or mustard or something.  We finally landed around 3 and found my dad after getting our stuff!  Spain was a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

