Lwoods4's Blog

Happy New Year!

Posted on: January 2, 2011

I hope everyone had a wonderful New Year’s Eve.  Mine was pretty good.  I spent most of the day in the hospital visiting my grandpa.  He’s hanging in there.  I left for the city around 8:30 with Karla.  I was amazed that we never hit traffic! It’s probably because everyone who was going to be in the city was there already.  Anyway, by the time we found parking and got a sticker on my car and the wine at my apartment opened, it was about 9:45.  Kiersten came over and then Karla re-curled my hair (and supplied my outfit).  She used my spiral curling iron. I love when my hair looks like that.  If it didn’t take over an hour, I’d curl it like that every day.  Anyway, we hung around for a little while talking and finishing getting ready and finally headed over to the party at my old apartment around 10:45.  By the time we got there, my hair was “wavy” at best.  There were a few pieces that were straight and it basically looked like a hair sprayed mess.  Thanks 47 degree weather! I saw lots of familiar faces and lots of new faces.  I had a good time.  It was great to see all of my friends after everyone being at home for break.  I had a lot of interesting conversations.  I met another girl named Lisa who also did gymnastics! Karla, Kiersten, and I decided to head out around 1:30 am.  We walked back to my apartment even though public transportation was only a penny! We could have hopped on the el for one stop, but I was in the mood to walk.  Poor Karla wore heels so she took them off and walked barefoot!  We stopped at 711 on the corner of Sheffield and Armitage because I wanted pizza.  Of course, we had pizza in my freezer at home, but it wasn’t Dijorno.  I got a pepperoni pizza that we came home and made.  Kiersten left after that and Karla and I went to bed.  I drove myself and Karla home this morning.  We left around 10 and stopped for McDonald’s breakfast, which was probably the highlight of my day.

After coming home today, I hung around the house, cleaned my room, and visited my grandpa again.  The parents promised me we would go to Olive Garden for dinner.  I have been craving Olive Garden since I was in Spain. That was over a month ago! I was going over the menu in my head and weighing pros and cons of dishes since 3:30 in the afternoon.  I could almost taste the breadsticks.  So we get to Olive Garden around 5:30pm.  It was crowded, but not overwhelming.  I was designated to go put our name on the list and the woman said it would be 25-30 minutes.  My dad said fine, we would wait.  I popped a squat on the couch to save a seat for my mom.  Next thing I know, my dad waves me over and asks me if Houlihans is alright. Houlihans!? NO. I want Olive Garden.  But of course I say, “Sure. That’s fine.” It was so not fine! I was crushed.  It was like they dangled it on a string in front of my face! My dad gave our buzzer back and we went across the street to the other restaurant, which had empty tables and a whole bunch of nothing fun.  I ordered wild mushroom enchiladas and couldn’t even eat it.  There was some crazy unexpected spice in the enchiladas and the rice made me gag.  I stayed away from the beans.  It was a bad experience.  I treated myself to a Snickers bar (that has been in the freezer for at least a year and a half) when I got back to my apartment.  I hope it won’t be too long before I see the inside of an Olive Garden AND get to eat there!

Off to bed, inventory at Underthings in the morning.  Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

