Lwoods4's Blog

day 1!

Posted on: November 4, 2011

I made it safely and without getting sick to Hawaii yesterday afternoon Hawaii time, evening Chicago time. I landed around 3:45pm, which is 8:45 at home. Currently its 5:43am. I went to bed at 8 local time which is 1am Chicago time. I’m sure that’s confusing. The time difference was rough! I’m updating this from my phone because I didn’t bother to figure out the internet situation last night. Yesterday, we went to the mall and walked around a little. Its huge! Its an outdoor mall. We also ate there. I wasn’t too hungry because of the time change and I ate a little on the plane. Then we drove through Waikiki, past the Honolulu zoo. I saw people carrying surfboards! I was pretty tired so that’s all we did yesterday. It was warm enough to wear shorts, but it rained on and off for a little while. I was surprised by how big it is. There were 260 people on my plane and I didn’t think we would all fit! I guess that was kind of silly of me. My first flight landed in Los Angeles right when my next flight started boarding! I got off one plane, grabbed a sandwich and got on the next! It was crazy how quick that transition was. There were so many old people on the flight to Honolulu! On the way home I have a 3 hour layover in San Francisco. I haven’t seen too much of the island yet, but so far it looks a lot like California. The busy touristy spots look like a mix between Vegas and New York. There is the strip feel with palm trees, but also the busy city feel. We don’t have too many plans today. I think we’ll probably go to the beach in Waikiki and watch fireworks later. Here is what I was greeted with at the airport. Aloha!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

