Lwoods4's Blog

day 2

Posted on: November 5, 2011

Yesterday was a busy day! We left around 9am and headed to Like Like Cafe (pronounced like leaky leaky).  We played count the white people.. not very many! They serve rice with breakfast.. kinda weird. After breakfast, we hopped in the car and started driving.  We drove through the mountains to an amazing beach.  I can’t remember what it was called, but it started with an M.  The waves were pretty big so I mostly stayed near the shore.  There were rocks on the beach and an island that is supposed to look like a rabbit.  I didn’t see it.  One guy surfing had a camera on his helmet.  He was doing some cool stunts!  I put SPF 50 on so I didn’t get much color.  I’m going with the 30 today! We stayed at the beach for a little while and then continued through the mountains to I think what was called Lani Kai lookout. It was beautiful! The water crashed up onto the rocks and made little pools.  We found a cave (with dead crab legs in it) and crawled through to the other side of the highway.  We found some cool shells over there and brought them back to the car.  The water was so blue! It was like standing at the edge of the world. After that, we stopped at a little place for acai bowls.  You can only get them in Hawaii. They’re a special kind of berry with fruit, granola and honey on top.  It was kind like a yogurt parfait.  It was really good!  We wanted to hike up Diamond Head, but the last hike was at 2 since they are doing construction and we got there just before 3. We decided to walk around Waikiki instead.  We went in The Stupid Factory and looked around. We also went to stores like Quicksilver.  There are a lot of surf shops and stuff. My dad told me about CrazyShirt so we stopped in there too.  I got him a shirt I think he’ll like.  We walked through the International Marketplace too.  There were booths with all sorts of different products; jewelry, candles, gifts, etc. After that, we stopped at the ABC store for some snacks and went to their slack lining spot on Waikiki beach. Slack lining is where you put this rope/ wire things between 2 trees and walk on it.  I thought it would be a lot like walking on a beam.  Boy was I wrong!  I could hardly take 2 steps without falling.  I did a few cartwheels on the ground and watched until the boys made one of the slack lines even higher.  Here I had the genius idea that it would be like a bar! Nope.  I wanted to try a flyaway. I peeled.  I have blisters on 7 out of 10 of my fingers and a nice big cut on one of them.  I sat the rest of the night out! One of the guys was doing back flips and another tried front flips on the lines.  I don’t think slack lining is the sport for me.  The Hilton put on fireworks around 7:45.  It was a pretty show, kinda quick, but it was cool that you could see them from the beach.  After that, we packed up and headed out.  I was exhausted! First Friday was going on, which is a celebration with street performers and stuff in Chinatown, but I was too tired to go. I fell asleep around 9:30pm Hawaii time, 2:30am Chicago time.  I’m slowly getting used to the time change.  I woke up around 5am today, but fell back asleep til 7:30. It’s about 8:30am now. I’ll add some pictures from my phone in a second.  I can’t wait to go to the Arizona Memorial.  I think that will be really cool!  We have a huge to-do list.  One of his friends last night gave me a few more ideas. He said there is an aquarium, sea life park, Kualoa Ranch where you can take an ATV or a horse and they show you around movies sets that have been filmed here, Hauama Bay with turtles and swimming with the dolphins, and Halewa in North Shore.  I can’t remember what that one is.  Lots to do! Not sure what’s on the agenda today, maybe kayaking. Oh and to all of my friends who know how much I love/can’t live without/get crabby if I go too long without having any: I have not been to a Starbucks yet! They’re everywhere though.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

