Lwoods4's Blog

Back to the Missouri

Posted on: November 10, 2011

Yesterday morning we went back to Pearl Harbor to see the Missouri.  This is the battleship you can walk on and go inside.  It is still fully functional which is cool. We got there just before 10 and spent an hour and a half on board.  It’s amazing that it floats!  It’s huge and has a ton of protective metal, not to mention weapons and people, beds, furniture, showers, computers etc. It’s crazy! We got a picture taken before going on board.  We put helmets on and the entire ship is in the background.  It was cute so I bought it at the end.    I also took a lot of pictures.  We got to see the letter of surrender and the place on the ship where the surrender happened.  There was a really old American flag too.  I did some cartwheels on deck, but those are on my actual camera so I’ll have to post them later.  We walked all around the ship seeing offices, maps, the captain’s room, guns, the cafeteria, sleeping quarters. The stairs up and down were really steep.  We climbed in the beds.  There was hardly room to roll over!  They were so close together and stacked on top of each other.  I can’t imagine how anyone could sleep like that.  Some had curtains that you could close and some didn’t.  We saw a lot of office spaces with really old computers.  There were lots of old maps and equipment.  It was a cool experience to see all of that.  After touring the ‘Mighty Mo’ as its called, we had to jump in the car and head to class at Hawaii Pacific University.  I hung around with another friend.   I didn’t go to class.  Ryan and I had lunch on Fort Street which has a bunch of shops and places to eat.  We had Vietnamese food.  I ordered chicken fried rice thinking that would be a safe bet.  Think again! My stomach hurt for the rest of the day! He dropped me off at a beach in Waikiki because he had some studying to do. However, it was not the same beach in Waikiki that I was used to going to! I wandered around walking back and forth until I ran out of beach one way.  I turned around and went the other way.  There was a lot of hotel property and it turned out I was lost behind the Hilton!  My friend called and told me to meet him at his house. I wasn’t sure I’d know how to find it, but I did!  Luckily he gave me his phone since I left mine behind for the day.  It would have been pretty hard to get un-lost and to find my friend if I didn’t have his phone! The Hilton property was really nice.  They had a cool lagoon for kids to play in.  There was a restaurant and of course a pool.  It was a scenic getting lost.  After regrouping back at the apartment we decided to go to the shopping centers at Ward.  There were 3 places on my list to go to at Ward: Red Pineapple, Beach Glass Bingo, and Posh Pau.  The only one we found was Red Pineapple.  I think the other 2 would have been pretty expensive anyway.  We found the Honolulu Chocolate Company! I got some stuff for the family there.  We also found a really cool candle store.  They make the candles there.  They smelled soo good!  I didn’t get anything, though.  We went in the Island Guitars store.  They had some really beautiful instruments.  I bought a few more things to take home.  I have a few more to go! We were going to go to the International Marketplace when we got back, but I was exhausted and we were supposed to go to Senor Frogs, so I took a little nap while my friend did some homework.  When I got up, I didn’t feel much like going, but we made dinner and headed out.  My stomach was still hurting and my legs are still really sore from paddle boarding. We only stayed at Senor Frogs for about an hour before coming home and crashing. My friend left for class a little while ago so I’m going to go for another run. After that, I’m going to walk through the International Marketplace and try to find a few more gifts.  I also need a new ring still!  This afternoon the plan is to go snorkeling at Haunama Bay. Tomorrow is kayaking to the Moks! I’m excited for that.  I want to do at least one hike before I leave, but we haven’t done any yet!

 

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

