Lwoods4's Blog

Hunama Bay

Posted on: November 11, 2011

First of all, I would just like to point out that I have 3 bruises from paddle boarding and my legs are still extremely sore.  There are 2 bruises on my left knee and one on my right elbow. After that run this morning, I did a load of laundry, stopped for coffee, and walked over to the International Marketplace in Waikiki. I found a cute little store that makes purses and bags out of quilts.  I got a lot of cool gifts for friends there.  I found a few things in the International Marketplace, but had to head back because my friend was done with class.  After meeting back at the apartment for lunch, we headed to Hunama Bay! We always plan on getting somewhere around 1:30 after class in the morning, but we don’t actually arrive until 3pm.  We watched a short video about the bay and how it was formed.  It actually used to be the crater left behind by a volcano and over time, water eroded one side creating the bay.  I thought that was pretty cool. Anyway, we rented snorkeling gear and got in the water.  It was pretty cold! I’ve never snorkeled before so I was a little apprehensive.  I was breathing fast under water because I was afraid I wasn’t going to get enough air! It’s kind of a weird concept.  I tried to relax, but it was hard because the coral in the water was so shallow.  There were sea urchins everywhere! They were beautiful colors, pinks and purples, but very intimidating.  They stuck out in the coral because most of the coral looked like rock, it was a very dull color. I was thankful I had flippers on because a few times I hit the bottom and didn’t know it.  It would have hurt if my feet were bare!  I was swimming over the coral holding my breath and sucking my stomach in with my arms either out in front of me or glued to my sides.  I did not want to hit that stuff! I did see a lot of cool fish!  There was one that had a dull greenish color and all sorts of bright colors in wave like patterns on top.  I saw some pretty big fish, too.  I wish I knew what they all were!  It was cool to see them among the reef.  While I was trying to make myself as thin as possible swimming over all that, my friend was out ahead of me in the water and when he stopped to make sure I was still following, he said there were 2 turtles following me!  He tried to signal for me to turn around, but I just kept sucking it in and swimming so I didn’t get to see them! That would have been so cool.  I saw another fish that had a horn like a unicorn and it was a clear color.  I saw a school of fish very close to shore too.  It was pretty neat, but I would have liked it much better if the water were a little deeper.  I think it would have been more fun. It was still a great experience, though! The bay was beautiful and it was cool to just observe the fish in their natural habitat. Once we finished up at the bay, we went to the mall for food.  We were in the mood for sushi, but the Japanese restaurant we stopped at didn’t have it! They were more of a noodle place.  We ordered pot stickers and went to another restaurant my friend knew of for sushi.  Little did I know, the sushi was on a conveyor belt and you just pluck whatever you see that you want off the belt and are charged by the color of the plate! I have (and still am) been wanting to go to a decent sit down restaurant with a waiter and a drink menu.  This was not exactly what I had in mind!  The sushi was okay, but I was kind of bummed that we ended up there for dinner.  After that, it was more shopping!  I had a few more thing I wanted to get, including a ring.  I found exactly what I was looking for at a store called Silver Rhino.  It is a silver ring with a turtle.  It’s a size 4! I knew my fingers were small, but that is really small!  I also saw a sweatshirt I wanted sometime in the past week that says HI on it with the Hawaiian islands in the background.  We searched all the surf shops in the mall for it, but couldn’t find it! I bought a tshirt that says HI with a few flowers on it, but not the Hawaiian islands.  I’ll keep my eyes peeled tomorrow, but I wanted to get all the shopping over with.  Tomorrow we are kayaking to the Moks! I’m pretty excited about that.  Hopefully, we’ll do some more surfing after.  I only have 1 full day left! I leave early Saturday morning.  I’m going to miss the weather! This really is a beautiful place.  On another note, it looks like the Sun Times is going to offer me a job! Here’s some pictures from today:

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

