Lwoods4's Blog

Things I’ve been up to

Posted on: November 20, 2011

I finished The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult yesterday.  It was so good! The ending surprised me a little.  The next book on my list is Blood Orange by Drusilla Campbell.  I’m either going to start it tonight or on the train tomorrow morning.  After that, I’m going to start The Hunger Games.  I have decided to take the 7:20 train which gets to the city at 8:01 am.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to walk from the train station to work for a few weeks before it gets crazy cold and snowy in order to save a few bucks by not taking the el.  Thank goodness Starbucks practically runs the world because I am going to need ventis pretty often! I’m not a morning person at all and I hate getting up when its still dark out!  I’m always running late, especially when I’m half asleep.  I have to be at work at 8:45 so I really need to get my butt in gear the minute I wake up.  No hitting snooze for me! I’m sure I could be getting gold cards left and right at Sbux, if I didn’t already have one! I feel like its the first day of school all over again.  I packed a book, a notebook, my portfolio thing I’ve been carrying around, a folder, pens, pencils, a brand new pack of highlighters, a ruler, and a calculator on top of the notebook, planner, and everything else I already carry in my bowling bag of a purse!  Now if only I could find that jump drive..

Today was a pretty busy day.  I started cleaning my room yesterday because I had a bunch of books and papers from college that had been cluttering the floor for a while.  Today, I decided to bring my big girl bed up from the basement and rearrange furniture.  I moved my desk to the wall by my window and by big girl bed is kind of where my desk used to be.  I wanted to get new sheets so I spent today shopping around for those and a comforter.  I chose blue sheets and a silver quilt to go with my blue and white room.  I also took down a lot of old pictures of some people from high school and grade school who aren’t really around anymore.  I replaced some of them with newer pictures of current friends, but also put up a painting of a car on the beach my grandma bought me when my mom was in surgery and my old soccer jersey from the Flames days.  I donated a lot of clothes and jewelry also. It felt pretty productive! I like the way my room looks much better this way and you can actually see the floor.  I printed pictures from Hawaii and filled the photo album I bought there.  I also used a few of those pictures in empty frames I had.

I thought it was interesting to compare the things I wanted to do in Hawaii with what I actually did. Here is the list of what I wanted to do:

  • Aloha Stadium Swap Meet in Aiea (open market)
  • Hideaway Bar in Waikiki
  • Ala Moana Farmers Market
  • Arizona Memorial – Pearl City
  • Ko Olina – Kapolei (lagoons)
  • Cholo’s Mexican Restaurant in North Shore for li hing margaritas (I’ll pass on the Mexican food..)
  • Diamond Head State Monument – dormant volcano
  • Formaggio Wine Bar – Kaimuki
  • Maunawili Falls – Kailua (1.5 mile hike with Windward waterfalls)
  • Ka’ena Point – North Shore
  • Eat the Street – Kakaako (street festival)
  • White Plains –  Ewa Beach (beginning surfing)
  • Honolulu Zoo – Waikiki
  • Madre Chocolate – downtown Honolulu (make your own chocolate)
  • Beach Glass Bingo – Ward (glass jewelry)
  • Red Pineapple – Ward (gifts)
  • Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf Hawaii – downtown Honolulu (coffee shop)
  • Posh Pau – Ward (handmade swimwear)

The ones with the line through them are the ones we actually did! I did get coffee and chocolate, but no bathing suit.  I got to do a lot of other fun things like Hanauma Bay, the waterfall hike, surfing, and other things that weren’t on my list.  I had a really good time.  I got really lucky getting a job after Hawaii the way I did.  I’m lucky that I’ve never had to sacrifice a vacation for a job.  The same thing happened with the Sox around spring break.  Oh yea! I’m also bringing a Sox stress ball to work tomorrow!

Here is my favorite postsecret this week:

I like it because the girl in the image looks so normal.  I love her blue eyes. I also felt a little bit like her.  I still do sometimes, but I know there are plenty of reasons to carry on.  I liked this secret even more when I clicked on it to save it and its title is: be the reason for others.  There were lots of good ones this week!

I met my boss from Windy City Paws on Friday for dinner at Aquitaine in the city.  It was a really good time! It was great to see her and we had a lot of catching up to do.  The food was really good too, even though we stuck to a few different appetizers! I saw Cindy on Saturday.  That was fun! Well, I’m off to go look for my ipod in case I want some other form of entertainment on the train tomorrow and then I need to get to sleep! I’ve been staying up late this week, but I should really try to get to bed early tonight.

Ahh Dusk and Summer  just came on, though I am a little embarrassed to admit that.  “She smiled in a big way, the way a girl like that smiles when the world is hers.”  I remember when I used to feel like that.

Found the ipod, looks like I’m all set for tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

