Lwoods4's Blog

Week 3

Posted on: December 5, 2011

This is the beginning of my 3rd week with the Sun Times.  It’s alright so far.  I’m still learning a lot, but I wish I was proficient in all of their tools already! The commute is a rough one.  Driving to the train, getting on the train and walking and then doing it again really wears me out.  I remember being exhausted when I worked for the White Sox too.  I guess I’ll get used to it soon enough. I’m still struggling to get out of bed on time in the morning! My outfit might show that today.. not sure what I was thinking, but I’m warm! I finished the book Blood Orange.  It was a decent read, but slow at times.  I liked the way everything came together at the end, but some of the details went in circles or weren’t always necessary.  I recently started The Hunger Games.  I have about 15 pages left in the first book.  I love it! I could not put it down.  I’m stopping by Cindy’s tonight to pick up the 2nd of 3 since I’m sure I’ll finish the first on the train home.  Speaking of trains, I keep aiming to take the 7:20 or 7:24 in the morning.  I think I’ve caught the 7:20 twice so far and the 7:24 maybe 3 or 4 times and other than that I’ve been on the 7:51!  I am SO not a morning person.  Still trying, though.  I got an email for an audition for Kenmore tomorrow.  I talked to my boss about it and unfortunately, since December is very busy for my team, if I got the role, he didn’t think I could take time off work to do the shoot.  It’s 6 miles away from work.  I’m still contemplating going to the audition just for practice and maybe to get my name and face out there, but at the same time, is it really worth it if I can’t take the role if its offered to me?  I’m torn.  Being a grown up is tough.  I never seem to have the right timing for the modeling stuff.  It’s disappointing, but I’m trying to be smart with my working career at the same time.  

I had a busy weekend!  I went out with Jburg in the city on Friday.  We went to Caesar’s for dinner and margaritas and then stopped at a gay bar on the way back to her apartment since she lives near Boys Town. That was an interesting experience! The bar itself was really, really nice.  I can’t remember what it was called, though.  There was a big fireplace, a few different rooms, wood floors, nice tables and counters.  It was a new environment for me.   I think its safe to say that was my first and last experience at a gay bar.  I was exhausted from my first full week at work so we didn’t stay too long past midnight.  I was so tired, I fell asleep in my dress on the couch while Jburg and Kate stayed up talking.  On Saturday, I had some time to lounge around and then I worked out before going over to Kiersten’s.  We saw a band play at an Irish bar in Mundeline. That was fun. The band was really good, the singer had an amazing voice!  Sunday was Marie’s bridal shower, also a first for me!  It was great to see her! I haven’t seen her in so long and I’m so happy that she’s happy! I headed straight to my cousin’s birthday party after that where we hung out for a few hours. I was pretty tired when I got home, but I read at least 100 pages of my book on the couch.  Back to work for a little while longer!

Salome showed me this today: http://www.birchbox.com/  I think it is so cool! I’m still deciding if I want to cough up $10 a month for stuff I might not even use, but what a neat idea! You can fill out a survey about your skin and hair type and they send you samples of products to try out and use.  You get 4 or 5 samples every month. It’s like a care package to yourself every month!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

