Lwoods4's Blog

Fun Winter Things?

Posted on: December 20, 2011

I think fun fall things sounds better, but I think I am better at fun winter things!  I made these Santa hat brownies tonight for a little party at work tomorrow! It is my first fun winter thing, but I think I have plenty of time to make more.  I realized that Marco did most of the work for fun fall things..

Here is the link if you’d like to try them out! They’re very easy.  I used regular vanilla frosting instead of the one it tells you to make.

Last night I attended an IABC/ Chicago (“like” the Facebook page, I made it!) event at The Tasting Room. It was at Randolph and Ogden.  I was kind of dreading going because I hate networking events and they’re usually pretty boring.  I had a blast! Immediately, a girl named Katy and I found each other because we could tell the other needed a friend.  Turns out she just graduated from DePaul’s Law School.  The Tasting Room is a really, really cool place with an awesome atmosphere.  The wine was fantastic! I would definitely recommend it. I’d love to go back.  I had a glass of pinot grigio and a red wine from Portugal. There was a brief presentation on the history of some of the wines and how they’re made and then we had about an hour and a half to mingle and meet people.  Everyone was very friendly and easy to talk to.  Katy and I stuck together most of the time, but we were able to meet tons of great people.  We talked to a man named Steve who works in marketing at DePaul for a while.  He was funny.  We all discussed The Hunger Games! He is on book 2 and Katy and I had just finished reading them.  That was at the end of the night so there were some big hand gestures and enthusiastic discussions about the books at this point.  Steve was telling me a little about The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo since that’s what I’m reading now.  Shortly after that, he dropped a wine glass.  Whoops! I got a few business cards and said goodbye 30 minutes after the event was scheduled to end!  Katy and I walked out together, but she was taking the el and I needed to catch a cab back to the train station.  It was about 8:30 so I was planning on taking the 9:30 train home.  As was the case after the White Sox holiday party, there were no cabs in sight! I waited on the corner for a few minutes before a guy with a gym bag spotted me and asked if I was waiting for a cab.  I said yes and he said if I see one I should get in it, but he has a cab and will be back in 2 minutes.  I pondered this for a few seconds, then decided to cross the street to try my luck out on the other side.  As I was walking, the little white man turned into the blinking hand.  When you’re in the middle of an intersection, you have no choice but to keep going.  This is what I did.  A woman pulled up to turn and apparently didn’t see me because I saw her mouth the words, “What the f*** are you doing?” Crossing the street lady, do you mind?! Anyway, I finally saw a cab! I waved it down and told the driver where I was going.  I was all relieved that I got a cab and would make the 9:30 train home when the driver told me he was the guy who passed me on the corner! I told him I thought he meant he called a cab and it would be there shortly to pick him up and we could share, not he WAS the cab! Kind of a funny mix up.  Here’s a few pictures from the event.

Currently stuck in my head: “Without you all I’m going to be is incomplete,” by, yes, the Backstreet Boys.

Currently playing on iTunes: Take it Easy by the Eagles on a mix cd called Emo Heart not Emo Music.

Life is crazy. Time has the power to change so much, whether you want it to or not. I’ve got to get to bed so I can try really hard to get up  and work out before I eat too many desserts at the luncheon tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

