Lwoods4's Blog

Xmas

Posted on: December 26, 2011

Christmas Eve was at my house.  It was a really nice time.  The party started at 5, which felt late, but I guess it wasn’t too bad.  Our parties usually end early so it was nice to have one that went a little later.  We played Apples to Apples and 31.  Kellie won both times!  Dana had her little dog, Kaylee here too so she could spend the night and be here Christmas morning.  Surprisingly, DJ and Kaylee got along pretty well! Kaylee growled at DJ more than he did at her, which was kind of surprising.  I think DJ must only have a problem with dogs that are bigger than him. Here’s a picture of Kaylee:

Christmas Day was at my grandma’s.  It was a really nice time, too.  We took the traditional picture with the other side of the family, my second cousins. Jackie, my youngest cousin got 3 pairs of yoga pants from Victoria’s Secret that had some variation of a blue cheetah print and “pink” or “love pink.”  It was funny! I got a nice gift from my aunt and my other aunt really like the gift I got her!  We age out of getting gifts from every family when we graduate college so it was my first year in the adult grab bag.  I think its a good concept and everyone seemed to like the gift they received. After dinner, the girls played spoons, a card game we used to play when we were little.  I think we must not have had any spoons because we wound up playing with plastic forks.  I was the 1st loser, apparently wine slowed down my reflexes.  I wanted pizza when I got home from my grandma’s so Johnny and I made it our mission to find some! Pappa John’s was the only place open!

My sister likes doing the returning the day after Xmas.  I’ve never participated so I thought I would this year.  My expectations and hers were clearly different. We got in a little disagreement before we left and were very close to deciding to go separately.  I thought we would meander around the stores, like how I usually shop and she got right down to business.  We got in, we got in line, we returned, and we left. We moved swiftly from one store to the next.  We did switch off standing in line so one could look while the other waited, but still, I prefer to be more leisurely in my shopping. The mall was a mess! I’d say it was worse than before Christmas shopping.  The lines were very long and there were cars all over the place. I ordered a new phone case while sitting in traffic trying to get out of the mall since I noticed mine is dirty from being dropped!  It was $4 and its purple!  The mall was pretty crazy, but hey, we got it done.  My sister had to leave to meet some friends for coffee so I ventured out again with the parents.  I got a few things from Target and then we went to Barleycorn in Schaumburg for dinner. I picked up The Girl Who Played with Fire since I think I’ll finish The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo on the train tomorrow. All I really wanted to do today was lay around, watch TV, take a nap, and have Jillian Michaels kick my butt.  Instead, I was all over every store ever in Illinois! I do feel good that things have been exchanged and everything, but next year I’m staying home.  It was my only day off work and I did not enjoy it as much as I could have.  Oh well.

Back to work tomorrow! I have to finish folding and putting new sweaters and stuff away.  I’m still debating working out.  I want to, but I’m an old lady and its already 8:45.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

