Lwoods4's Blog

SNOW

Posted on: January 21, 2012

Yesterday, I decided to drive to work instead of take the train because I was supposed to have a fitting for the bridal fashion show I’m in next week.  My time was 6:00 so I was going to pick Kiersten up and head there right after work.  However, it started snowing like crazy all day.  We were told we could leave work around 2 in the afternoon, but I had a lot to do and I thought I’d stick around because I knew Kiersten still had to work and I wanted her to come to the fitting.  As the day went on and the snow kept coming down, I started to get nervous.  I got an email saying if I could come earlier that would be really appreciated because the store owners wanted to leave before 6.  I left work, after drinking an extra large mug of pomegranate tea, at 4 in the afternoon.   The streets were a mess! It didn’t look like anything had been plowed.  I saw a few cars getting stuck before I even got on the Kennedy.  Luckily, Gertrude made it without any problems, but I was nervous! The highway was a big mess.  Some of the time, people weren’t even using one lane because the snow was too deep.  I saw a few cars that were parked and abandoned.  I did not go above 20 miles an hour for  long time.  I called my contact for the fitting and told her I was on my way, but it would take a while and that was when she told me they had decided to cancel the rest of the fittings.  That’s kind of odd because I’ve still never met these people and the show is now less than a week away.  The casting calls were canceled too because they were having trouble finding a place to hold them.  Anyway, I slid and crawled my way towards home.  I was supposed to hang out with Kiersten after the fitting and we had plans to make big cookies and drink wine and watch Grey’s, but once I was on 90, it would have taken me just as long to get back as it would to get home.  I was also unsure about where I would park my car because of the 2 inches or more snow rule in the city.  I mentioned the tea because the entire way I was trying not to crash my car, listening to my new 3 Day’s Grace CD on repeat, I had to pee! I got to the destination I was supposed to be at around 6:15. I wouldn’t have been too late, but I kept going since the fitting was canceled.  I made it over a few lanes to the right just in time for the Oasis so I could get off and go to the bathroom.  ooooh but that didn’t happen! The ramp was in worse shape than the road and I didn’t think I’d make it up without getting stuck! I kept going.  Luckily I had puppy chow in my bag because not only did I have to pee like a racehorse, I was hungry.  At this point had eaten it all because I had a light lunch.  I was planning to go to Starfruit but then I got all stressed out trying to get things done and it didn’t happen.  So anyway, I got to the point where you can stay on 90 or take 53.  Usually, I stay on 90 til Roselle.  Wellll, I couldn’t get over so I took 53 to Algonquin and made it home, and to the bathroom, around 7:15!!!!! Here’s what the drive looked like.

I saw LaurieAnn on Thursday! She might be moving to New York soon! I’m really happy for her. Other than that, its been a light week with seeing friends.  I’m not feeling too great.  Today is my cousin’s fiance’s bridal shower.  I was planning to work out before it, but I’m going to see how I feel in a little while.  I was just putting ads on Craigslist.   Anyone interested in a wedding dress or a lefty baseball glove?  See below and let me know!

I’m also going to be working another trade show next weekend.  It is the Budget Travel Tradeshow. I’m pretty excited about that! I have a day off to use by February 15th because I didn’t take MLK day off and I’m thinking of going to California for a long weekend! I still haven’t gotten my hat from Roxy.  I hope it comes today!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

