Lwoods4's Blog

Books

Posted on: February 1, 2012

I just finished The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest, the 3rd and final book in The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series. I thought the books were ok, pretty long. There was about 300 pages of background or unnecessary info in each book. I think the series would have been fine as just 2 books. Speaking of books, its February which means the Hunger Games movie will be out next month! I can’t wait for that! I have another book with me that I could start, but I don’t feel like it yet. I downloaded a word search app. My new record is 499 seconds! Woo

Uh oh there is a passenger on the train who needs medical attention! We’re stopped at Clybourn. I missed my morning train yesterday! I was in line to buy a new February monthly pass (which cost $163!) and I knew I would be cutting it close, but I thought I could make it. I gave myself til 7:48 to get outside. However at 7:48, I was next in line! I bought my ticket just as the train pulled up and of course it was on the wrong side of the tracks. The next train was at 7:54 and made every stop so I got to work a little late. Looks like I’ll be late today too because we needed emergency services! Sometimes, when I get downtown, I’m tempted to get right back on another train and go back home to sleep!

I had a very vivid dream last night in which my sister and I rescued 3 cats and 2 puppies from a burning house. I think that means I should rescue a dog! I also dreamt I was back in Jessicas office at the White Sox.. wonder what that one means!

I met Melissa for lunch yesterday. She was at DePaul my freshman year and we were pretty good friends. She transfered to Arizona, though, which made it a little hard to stay in touch. She’s working downtown now too. We met at Protein Bar. They do all kinds of protein shakes and wraps and stuff. It was nice to see her! We are going to get together again soon, maybe the week after next. I went to Starfruit yesterday afternoon and I got apple pie keifer with pie crumbs and caramel. Yum. I met Melissa right at noon so I was back from lunch around 1. I like going to lunch between 1:30 and 1:45 so the day is almost over when I get back.

When I got home, I went straight to Uno’s near woodfield to meet LaurieAnn. She got the job in New York and is moving soon so I wanted to see her one more time! Her birthday is tomorrow too. I think she is giving herself a great birthday gift, a new job in a new city! I would love it if I could do that soon too. We had deep dish pizza and talked about things for a while. I got her a big tote bag with a laptop case inside and a picture frame with a picture of us from a Sox game in it for her new apartment. I’m so happy for her. I can’t wait to visit!

I still don’t feel like I’ve caught up on sleep from this weekend. Tonight I’m going to take it easy, workout and apply fir some jobs. My mom asked me to get tickets to River Dance so I’ll be taking a walk over to the Oriental Theater at lunch. Maybe I can get Theresa to come.

Think about this today: treat people the way you want to be treated. LaurieAnn and I were talking about how her friends in New York haven’t been very supportive and I was bummed that no one else could go to the fashion show. I think society is so self centered and success driven that we often forget how our words and actions make other people feel.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

