Lwoods4's Blog

Sunday in California

Posted on: February 13, 2012

Yesterday, we had breakfast at a place called Aroma Cafe. One of Bradys friends met us there. The place was adorable! And really busy. There was a room that looked like a library where you could sit, or tables in the front and back of the restaurant. We sat in the back. Brady said she saw Ryan Gosling there once. The food was really good! It was sunny out in the back. They also had heat lamps on. It was a really nice atmosphere. I could definitely see myself hanging out there if I lived here! On the way out, I think I saw the guy who plays Castle on the TV show on ABC called Castle!

After breakfast, Brady and I went to Venice beach. That place was crazy! It was warm there too. I didn’t need the jacket I brought. We walked up and down the boardwalk and looked at all the shops. Brady warned me that there were a lot of bums and there certainly were! There were also a lot of people soliciting medical marijuana. It was an interesting place! We looked at buying some photographs, but decided if we really wanted them, we could take them ourselves. I really like wandering down streets with markets and vendors like that. There were all kinds of different jewelry and artwork. People made picture frames and other paintings out of skate boards! I bought a few post cards and then we hurried on our way to horse back riding in Malibu!

We took Pacific Coast Highway there! It was so cool! There were some amazing views. We wound our way up into the mountains and found the ranch. The tours were running late though so we had some time to kill. I had all my stuff with me because I was meeting up with my other friend after. Luckily I had chex mix and other snacks in my backpack from the airport! We snacked a little since it was now 3:00 and we had only eaten breakfast.  I did my hair before the group came back. We went on an hour long trail ride. I’ve been on them before and I really like horses so I wasn’t nervous, but a few people in the group were! The instructor gave us a crash course on how to steer your horse and don’t let it eat grass and stuff like that. We had a bit of a rocky start. Someones horse was really hungry! When that problem got figured out, my horse decided to drag me into the bushes. My foot came out of the stirrup so it was hard to kick the horse and get it back on track. I eventually did though and we rode along without too many more mishaps for a while. My horse was the first one behind the instructor and everyone was telling me to go faster! Holly was on her own agenda. Later we found out that my horse and the 2 behind me, including bradys were guide horses. I had another bush incident with Holly and someone else dropped their reigns. The guide took pictures of us along the way, in my purple childrens helmet! There were some beautiful views of the mountains, but it was hard to look and keep Holly on track. I thought it was fun! I have a few battle wounds from trees and bushes, but I enjoyed it!

After that, I met up with my friend from Hawaii. We had dinner and then watched Horrible Bosses. Today we might go to Santa Monica and I’m hoping to see Marie!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

