Lwoods4's Blog

This week

Posted on: March 23, 2012

One of the other assistants has been out all week. I’ve been crazy busy trying to cover my desk and hers! It has also been really inconvenient that I haven’t been feeling well.  I am very thankful it is Friday! I am going to give Starbucks some money to reload my gold card and then I’m getting a pumpkin spice latte! I need to chill out for a minute.  Today would be the perfect day to stay in and watch movies all day since its rainy and gross.  In my former life I would have said stay in and cuddle, but that’s not relevant anymore.  Anyway, I can’t wait to see The Hunger Games! I think Kiersten and I are going to go on Sunday!

I met Katie for dinner last night! I picked her up in Des Plaines and we went to a little Italian place with really good bread in Mount Prospect.  We shared some appetizers and talked for about 2 and a half hours! We talk pretty frequently, but she doesn’t come home very often so it was great to see her!

Life is expensive.  Kiersten and I made reservations to go to The Irish Cottage in Galena in mid April.  I guess the Irish streak continues!  I’m really looking forward to a nice little weekend somewhere else.  My cousin is getting married tomorrow! I still need a dress.  I might wear the black one I ordered from Asos, but it might not be the most family friendly dress.  Its pretty tight.  However,  I might be the only one worrying about that. My mom and sister are wearing black so it would be nice if I could find something else to wear.  I’m thinking purple. If not, the scalloped dress could be my back up. It is a very cool dress.  I’m going shopping tonight so we’ll see how that turns out.  I have to get pictures up from St. Patrick’s Day still!

Last night, I rediscovered how amazing it would be to move to California.  I pictured myself getting a Great Dane puppy and taking pictures of its growth every month, too. I think its funny because so many people are getting engaged and married now that by the time I get said puppy, those people will probably be having babies.  And I won’t.

Haha I found this on Post Secret this week.  Sometimes I feel like this! I said once that what I hate more than women with huge honking diamond rings (because I’m jealous and I want one) and happy people.  Maybe I secretly wish I was one of them too.

Quote time!

...

Eleanor's my girl

The following are all from a book I read by Jodi Picoult called Vanishing Acts. I pretty much wrote down half the book.

It took me a lifetime to realize things didn’t get lost if they didn’t have value – you don’t miss what you don’t care about.

I could tell her from personal experience that when people we love make choices, we don’t always understand them.  But we can go o loving them, just the same.  It isn’t a matter of comprehension. It’s forgiveness.

When you love someone, you want her to have everything she wants.

How do I tell Sophie that sometimes its not strangers who prey on us; its those we love who can do the most harm?

I have learned this lesson over and over doing search and rescue. If you choose to go looking for something, you’d better be ready for whatever it is you find.  Because it may not be what you’ve been expecting.

You cannot hate someone until you know what it might be like to love them.

We do all kinds of things to safeguard ourselves: lie to the people we love; split hairs to justify our actions; take punishment instead of waiting for it to be given to us.

Looking out for yourself sometimes isn’t about you at all.

Maybe knowing where you belong is not equal to knowing who you are.

Eric understands that the world is rarely the way it is supposed to be.  And he knows that, given the chance, we don’t have to wait for someone to make misses of our lives.  We do a good enough job ourselves.

Maybe she believed that because of what I’d been through, I knew that what was expected and what was right are rarely the same set of footsteps.

I realize, suddenly, that everyone is a liar.  Memories are like a still life painted by 10 different student artists: some will be blue based, others red. Recollections are in the eye of the beholder; no 2 held up side by side will ever quite match.

If I learned anything during this trial, its that the only way someone can leave you is if you let them.

—Jodi Picoult, Vanishing Acts

I have these notepads that say, “I want to do this with you” and then there’s a bunch of boxes that say things like go for a walk, have a picnic, watch a movie, go out to dinner, skip rocks at the lake, I don’t know random cute little things. I wish I could fill one of those out… ok now it is lunch time! and then pumpkin spice latte.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

