Lwoods4's Blog

Aside

Posted on: May 11, 2012

Thank you for your help in voting for my Roxy video! The finalists will be announced next week.  I have been SO BUSY the last week.  On Saturday, I went to Chocolate Fest in Long Grove.  It was alright. It was kind of a cold day.  I wandered around for a while.  There are really cool little shops there.  I bought some chocolate covered strawberries and some fudge.  I also picked up a few gifts for friends.  There was live music and tents set up with jewelry and things.  It was cool. I had a cookie dough latte.  That was interesting.  After that, I went to dinner with the parents at Chili’s.  Audelynn and I went to Lamp Lighter’s and O’Briens that night too.  I was surprised that they were both not very busy considering it was Cinco de Mayo.  And where were all the kids our age? No clue.  We still had fun, though.  I ran a few errands on Sunday.  On Tuesday and Wednesday of this week, I worked the Sweets and Snacks Expo at McCormick Place.  I stood for 7 hours straight. I will not tell you what my job was because it is embarrassing, but it was worth the money! I’ve had a lot of work to do since I took 2 days off in the middle of the week.  Everyone else is in a meeting that I was not invited to right now! I stayed with my dad at the Palmer House on Tuesday night.  We went to dinner with some of his co-workers at Italian Village.  I went there once with a boyfriend in high school.  It was kinda cool to go there again.  I tried to stay awake for Private Practice, but I was exhausted! On Wednesday, I had to hustle home to make it to cake class. I took a 15 minute lunch and walked around the candy show.  My favorite thing is Nutella with breadsticks. I haven’t actually tried it yet, though. I also liked chocolate one lady brought over for us.  She gave us chocolate covered espresso beans and chocolate caramels.  Anyway, I took a shorter lunch so I could leave a little early.  There was still a line for cabs, though, so I took the free trolley to Michigan Ave.  I got off at the Chicago Hilton, the first stop.  This was further south than Michigan and Congress.  It was 4:57pm.  I wanted to try to make the 5:16 so I wouldn’t be too late for class, which starts at 6.  I decided to run to the train station.  I had my big purse and another gym bag full of clothes and shoes, popcorn, chocolate, gummie bears, etc.  I had my teal shoes on and was wearing shorts over tights. Basically, I was a mess running through the city.  I was exhausted from standing all day and had 0  energy from only eating sugar.  Yet, I ran.  I made it to the train station just in time to see the 5:16 leaving.  I got a sandwich and got on the 5:33 and showed up to cake class half an hour late. We decorated a cupcake on top of our cakes this week. It was pretty cool.  I was being super cheap and didnt want to buy any of the supplies we needed and so I had to borrow everything. I will definitely need to go shopping this week for the right tools.  I’ll put a picture up soon.  Yesterday, Amanda and I went to kickboxing.  An older man taught the class.  We practiced with weapons.  It was weird because Amanda and I got split up and had to use weapons on people we didn’t know! Not my favorite class. I like the other teacher better and I like when we do actual kickboxing and knees and elbows and stuff.  Not a fan of the weapons. We went to Portillo’s for dinner after. I really wanted baked mostacholi, but they didn’t have it! I’m meeting Melissa for drinks after work and a different Melissa for lunch tomorrow!

The Starbucks machine at work is awesome! I love it.  You just push a bunch of buttons and get the drink you want. For free! It’s fantastic. You can get it iced or hot too. So cool. I went to lunch with Bill yesterday. Here is my fortune:

Time is the wisest counselor.

Kiersten is graduating soon!  I have to find the perfect gift.

Hello!

Leave a Reply

  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

