Lwoods4's Blog

Crazy!

Posted on: June 2, 2012

This week was another very, very busy one!  On Friday, I met Melissa after work at Townhouse. I love that place.  On Saturday morning, I got my hair cut.  I never really realize how long my hair actually is. It was SO LONG and definitely in need of a cut.  From there, I drove to Michigan to meet Melissa and her friend Carly who were already up there.  We went to Holland.  It wasn’t a bad drive.  It just got pretty boring after 2 hours.  I brought all my old CDs to listen to.  I got up there around 4:30 Michigan time and met them at the hotel.  They wanted to shower and get ready from being at the beach all day before we went out.  We left around 9 or 9:30 and went to a restaurant about 2 parking lots over.  After that, we decided the downtown area would be our best bet to find a bar or somewhere else to go.  It was 1.7 miles away.  Before we left, we wrote down 3 numbers for cab services.  2 were disconnected and 1 was a 45 minute wait so we decided to walk.  I hate walking long distances in flip flops because I always get blisters, but it was better than high heels! Luckily my phone has internet and maps on it so I was able to get us there and back. We went t0 a place called Holland Brewing Co (I think).  A band was playing Something Corporate when we walked in so that was cool.  That place was alright. It would have been really fun if there were more people there, but it was an odd crowd that night.  We stayed for an hour or so then went across the street.  Even weirder people there!!! We sat down at the bar next to 2 women and a creepy old man on the other side.  My friend was complaining about how there were no guys in the bar.  The gal next to me piped up and started talking about the guy on the end and how hot he was.  She was going on and on so finally I asked if she knew him.  “He’s my husband,” was her answer.  I was like ooooh haha you got us kind of thing, but she kept telling us to go talk to him.  She said he’s free to do whatever he wants and so is she because they are in an open relationship.  Yikes.  Then she said they’re swingers.  AND the creepy guy was talking to Carly.  It was an unfortunate series of events.  and super weird. We couldn’t get a hold of the last cab service when we wanted to go back to the hotel, so we walked about 2 miles back! The next day, we went to the beach! It was pretty cloudy all day though.  The water was freezing! It was hard to enjoy being at the beach because there was a kid near us who went in the water for a while and would not stop screaming about how cold he was and he wanted to go home and I think I have hypothermia.  It was annoying, but the beach was nice.

We showered and went to Saugatuk for dinner. Saugatuk was packed! It was about 15 miles from Holland. I think that was the place to be! There were lots of shops and candy stores and things. We went to a place called Phil’s for dinner. It was packed! We had to wait a while and by the time we sat down, my stomach was killing me. I ended up staying another night because I wasn’t feeling well.  I went back to the hotel and Melissa and Carly had another unsuccessful night out it sounded like.  I drove home early on Monday morning and then went to Lindsay’s.  Here is what 90% of the drive looked like.

That was the fun I needed! Her dad has a pool so we hung out in and around the pool. I brought some wine and we played bags and stuff.  It was really fun! I hardly got a tan all weekend though! I think if I put any sunscreen on at all, it acts like its SPF 150. I only had SPF 8 on and I have the faintest tan line! Hopefully it warms up this weekend again so I can try to fix that.

  

Another crazy week at work! Darla was off for a few days and Kaira came back from Europe! On Thursday, Audelynn and I went to dinner.  We had sushi with plum wine.  The wine was very sweet. I think it was more of a dessert wine, not really the white wine I was craving.  Anyway,  we split a bunch of different kinds of sushi.  It was really, really good! We were there for a few hours talking and catching up.  I hadn’t seen her since Cinco de Mayo, another weird night! I wore my tail skirt that is pictured below.  I love it! When I was taking it off, one of the clasps fell off 😦 but it is being fixed.  That night was fun.  The sushi was amazing and it was nice to get out and do something. We had a lot to talk about.

I returned Kiersten’s graduation gift.  It is no longer perfect.  I also bought myself an $80 pair of wedges from Aerosoles.  They are the most comfortable shoe I have ever owned.  I love them!

Don’t worry, I have another idea for Kiersten that might be even better!  I’m meeting Katie for lunch today. We talk a lot, but don’t get to see each other often.  Here is my favorite secret from this week.  I apologize for the curse word! It makes me wonder about the person who wrote it and who the person is that left.  It looks like the handwriting belongs to a boy.  I googled it, Perkins Cove is in Maine.

“Big hearts are for breaking.” – Jack’s Mannequin

Soon enough, you’re gonna think of me and how I used to be.

Have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

