Lwoods4's Blog

Weekends

Posted on: August 21, 2013

2 weekends ago, the 10th, was the Taylor Swift Concert! On the 9th, I FINALLY bought my new car! We had such a struggle with the dealership. It took over 2 weeks from the night we first went to buy a car to when I actually got to leave with it. There was much unnecessary drama that I don’t want to get into because I don’t want to think about it anymore. If you’d like, you can read my Yelp review on the situation here. I was really sad to say goodbye to Gertrude, my Dodge Stratus of 7 years, but I am loving the Bluetooth compatibility with my new car! And the butt warmers. I’m trying to use the sun roof as much as I can before the weather starts getting cooler.

20130821-123638.jpg  20130821-123647.jpg

The next day, Kit, Lindsay, Dave and I drove downtown for the T. Swift concert. We decided to spend the day at the beach before getting ready for the concert. We went to North Avenue. It was fun! The water wasn’t too cold.

20130821-123659.jpg20130821-123807.jpg

Kit got us a room at the Felix Hotel and it was tiny! I appreciate the effort, of course, but it was difficult maneuvering 2 people around while Lindsay and I were getting ready. I had no idea how we were going to fit 4! We ordered pizza from Gino’s East. It was spectacular. I picked the toppings. I think we put pepperoni, black olive, tomato, and maybe something else? Yum. The concert was awesome. Lindsay and I took a cab as far as we could, then had to walk the rest of the way to Soldier Field. The boys just went out and we met up with them later. Kiersten had a hard time finding parking at Soldier Field, but she made it to our seats just in time for Taylor to go on! It was a lot of fun. I had a great time at the concert. She played most of the Red CD and classics like Mean and Love Story. We were kinda bummed she didn’t play Stay. Our seats were kinda far away, but it was fine. Taking pictures was difficult, though. Here is what I managed to capture:

20130821-123558.jpg 20130821-123625.jpg

20130821-123755.jpg 20130821-123817.jpg

We just relaxed the next day by the pool. Kit and I watched Admissions. It was decent, but not too exciting. It was a fun weekend! Last weekend was much more relaxing. Dave is off at school now, but Lindsay still hangs out with us. I went to a Cubs game on Friday with work. The game was at 3:05 and I left around 5 to catch the train to Kit’s. Good thing I left when I did because when I got back I was locked out of my office! I didn’t have my key because I didn’t have my car keys. The concierge tried calling the bosses, but no one answered. They were hesitant to let me in, but they eventually did. Thank goodness because I left my backpack with all my stuff for the weekend at my desk.

20130821-123717.jpg

The bars were hopping in Yorkville on Friday! We tried to go to Blackstone, but it was packed. So was Tap House in Oswego. We ended up at Lake View Grille. Kit knows someone everywhere and we talked with his dad’s friend Glen for a little while before Johnny showed up. Then we went to Legends for a drink. I had a delicious bikinitini. On Saturday, Kit and I played golf with his parents. We played best ball for 18 holes. I was really confused and pretty awful. I am decently athletic and I’ve hit golf balls in the backyard with Kit before so I was pretty bummed that I was not doing well. I lost a few balls and hit a few well, but overall I would say my performance was a 4 out of 10 haha. Needless to say, his parents beat us. Oh well, better luck next time. Lindsay was at the house when we got home. I made caprese salad because we had so many cherry tomatoes and then we ‘watched’ Mud. I fell asleep because I was so exhausted from golfing. On Sunday, we hung out by the pool again. Renee’s parents were coming over so she asked me to make a dessert. I whipped up chocolate peanut butter bars. Kit’s dad made ribs which were amazing. After we ate and visited for a little bit, Kit drove me home.

Also, my sister and I did a wine and canvas a week or so ago. Check out our paintings!

20130821-124143.jpg

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

