Lwoods4's Blog

Posted on: October 2, 2013

I’ve been so caught up in reading other blogs, I haven’t updated my own! I had a busy, but fun weekend last weekend! I finally saw Kiersten’s new house! It was so cool! It was very spacious and I can’t believe she owns a house! The location is great, too! Then, we went to her CrossFit competition on Saturday morning. That was fun! It was interesting to see people doing their thing. They made lifting 165 pounds look easy! I can tell that everyone is very passionate about CrossFit. It’s a great community. It got me considering joining a gym.. I just don’t like to pay to workout when I’ve been doing it for free on my own since I stopped doing gymnastics at 18.  It looks intense, but it could be a good way to meet new people.  Here are a few pictures of Kiersten and her dad competing!

20131002-111815.jpg 20131002-111832.jpg 20131002-111843.jpg

After that, I headed back to Palatine for lunch with my old gymnastics coach. I was early (crazy, right?!) so I called all my friends in Palatine and they were all busy. I decided to drive by my old house. It’s weird seeing the changes that have been made since you left. I would not recommend cruising by your old casa.  It was pretty sad.  I guess it was good for reflecting on positive memories (like waiting for the bus at the end of the street, walking the dog, skateboarding down the driveway, family parties outside, graduation parties, etc) and processing how much has changed in myself and the people around me since we lived there.  Anyway, we met by the Palatine train station at Emmit’s. It was so great to see P! He is still coaching at Fremd and the park district. It was fun to swap stories about people we know and everything. I’m glad I got to see him. I hope to see him again soon! I can’t believe it’s been 7 years since I was in high school!

I went with my mom to see my little cousin Jackie in her homecoming dress on Saturday afternoon. She looked beautiful! It’s hard to believe she’s a sophomore in high school. Time flies! Here is a picture of me, Kellie, and grandma with her.

20131002-111854.jpg

Kit and Lindsay came over for dinner on Saturday night. I wanted them to see my puppy and spend some time with my parents. They liked Cooper! He’s such a ball of energy.  My mom made ribs in the oven. Lindsay and I helped her put BBQ sauce on them and serve them.  They turned out alright. I give it a 7.5 and A for effort for her first attempt. It was fun to have the 2 of them at my house!

On Sunday morning, we went to Abbey Farms in Aurora. I bought a deal on Living Social. I was under the impression that it would be like Apple Holler in Wisconsin which Lindsay and I visited with Kiersten on our way to a soccer game at Marquette in college. It was not. Unfortunately, we were much too old for many of the activities. I was kinda bummed, but we still got cider and donuts and tried to do the corn maze. We picked out pumpkins too.

20131002-111906.jpg 20131002-111919.jpg 20131002-111927.jpg

After that, Kit and I went to Boombah in Batavia since the one in Yorkville is closed. I got a jacket and some workout tops. It’s similar to Under Armor, but much less expensive.  We wanted to have lunch in Geneva, but it was really crowded! We stopped at The Turf Room on the way home. It was so cool! It had a room where you can bet on horses and the bathrooms look like stalls in a barn. Super cool. I had peach sangria which was awesome. We ordered the Prime Rib Pizza after the waitress suggested it. It came with a sunny side up egg on top and shaved prime rib. We loved it! I would definitely go back there again. I got a kick out of the fine print on the menu. It says don’t operate heavy machinery or farm equipment after drinking.

20131002-111936.jpg 20131002-111945.jpg

We just relaxed and played with Jessie when we got home. It was a good weekend! This weekend Kit and I are going to Michigan for my birthday! I’m super excited. I want to pick apples, walk on the beach, go to a wine tasting. Turning 25 freaks me out, but I got a ton of freebies and rewards from awesome places like Starbucks, Caribou, Godiva, Sephora, IHOP, Heavenly Massage, etc so that makes me feel better! Yesterday at lunch, the girls from work and I walked over to Godiva to get our free piece of the month since it was 10/1, a new month. I got a $10 off coupon for my birthday so I picked out some chocolates to bring with to Michigan. They were having some kind of fashion event inside the mall on State Street and I saw a dress I really liked! It’s from Maash Boutique. You can see it here. I love it! Hopefully the weather is nice enough this weekend to wear it. I love stuff like that. I usually see things I like and don’t buy them because they are expensive or whatever the reason, and then I spend the next month or so trying to find it again so I’m very glad I decided to treat myself and buy the dress!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

