Lwoods4's Blog

Pure Michigan

Posted on: October 7, 2013

Kit and I went to Michigan this weekend for my birthday! We left Friday morning and got to Hawkshead golf course around 1 Michigan time.  He was super excited about the course and really enjoyed playing there! I’m not big on golf, but I play because he loves it so much. We played best ball because I am known to whiff more than once per hole and obviously, he is a lot better than I am. We shot a 44 on the front 9 and 37 on the back 9, I believe. It’s hard for me not to get frustrated when I don’t do well because I still consider myself a decent athlete. I used to be good at everything so picking up a sport now and trying to be competitive shouldn’t be hard, but it is! The course was really, really  nice. I loved being outside and the weather was beautiful. All in all, we had a good time.

Kit at Hawkshead

Kit at Hawkshead

tree tunnel at the golf course

tree tunnel at the golf course

20131007-115349.jpg

Fall in Pure Michigan

Fall in Pure Michigan

After that, we checked in at the hotel in South Haven. My parents tell me I’ve been there before, but I don’t remember it! We got cleaned up and headed into town for dinner. We wanted to go to Clementine’s, but it was pretty busy and we were hungry so we ended up at Black River Tavern. We split fish and chips and steak sliders. The fish and chips were much, much better! We walked around a little after dinner, but headed back to the hotel pretty early because we were tired.

sunset in downtown South Haven

sunset in downtown South Haven

20131007-113902.jpg

downtown South Haven

downtown South Haven

20131007-113925.jpg

The next morning, we had breakfast at the hotel. Breakfast was free and it was awesome! They had cereal, yogurt, fruit, pancakes, cinnamon rolls, sausage, eggs, biscuits and gravy. It was delicious. We went to McIntosh winery after breakfast. I loved it. We tried a few wines. Kit was all about the raspberry and blueberry and I tried apple cinnamon, pear, peach, and mixed berry. It was so good! We each had a glass and sat outside on the porch and played checkers. I bought the hard cider and pear wine to take home along with fudge and wine glasses. That was my favorite part of the trip!

20131007-113937.jpg  20131007-115531.jpg

After that, we headed to where they have you-pick orchards and grabbed some already picked apples. Kit wanted some green ones. I wanted to pick your own, but we really didn’t need to. They had chickens, llamas, and goats there!

20131007-113946.jpg

Next, we headed up to Saugatuck. It was about 30 minutes away. There were a bunch of cute little shops and restaurants up there. We walked around a little and stopped in a bar to use the bathroom and ended up staying for 2 hours! We had 4 drinks for $15. It was super cheap! We talked to the bar tender and a local for a little while and asked for lunch suggestions. They suggested Phil’s or Wally’s, both of which were crowded. We went to the Butler for lunch. It was nice because we had a view of the water! We split a cod sandwich and crab stuffed mushroom caps. Yum! It was an awesome lunch. We found a boutique dog shop and bought a toy for Jessie. It floats so we are hoping she will go in the river to get it! We also stopped in Kilwin’s and got some fudge and little cupcake cups to eat to celebrate my birthday. After we left the downtown area, we drove to the other side of the lake and found Oval beach. It was awesome! I really, really enjoyed the beach and I’m glad we stumbled upon it. We hung out and sat in the sand for a little while. I took a ton of pictures. I just love the beach. I am grateful we had such good weather!

20131007-113957.jpg20131007-114014.jpg20131007-114028.jpg

We relaxed a bit at the hotel and then headed out for dinner in South Haven. This time we ordered drinks and sat at the bar while we waited for table at Clementine’s. Kit’s coworker told him it was good so we wanted to try it. It was.. interesting. He had steak and I had shrimp linguini. There was nothing wrong with it, but I wouldn’t say it was anything special. Oh well, it was worth a try. There was a cute little movie theater in town that we wanted to check out, but their last show times were while we were still at dinner so we went back to the hotel. I was super exhausted from our busy day. I wanted to pick raspberries on Sunday morning, but it was pouring! We saw the sign over by the golf course.  I also wanted to see the lighthouse in South Haven since we didn’t walk all the way over to the ones at Oval beach. We drove there, but it was too rainy to get out and take pictures. I popped in the little coffee shop and got myself a Captain latte and we hit the road to go home. Jessie was so excited to see us! We gave her the new toy, but didn’t take her to the river. Hopefully we will next weekend. We watched a little of the Bears game and worked on the HJ Pokorny website before I packed up to head home.  It was a great weekend! Can’t believe I’m 25! Birthdays are a funny thing. It’s not about the people who don’t wish you a happy birthday.  It’s the people who do that make them special. I’m doing diner tonight with my family at Francesca’s in Arlington Heights! I’m excited.

Leave a Reply

    • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
    • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
    • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

    Categories

