Lwoods4's Blog

Days 2 – 6

Posted on: April 14, 2014

Here are some of my posts for #100happydays 2 – 6! I seem to have more than one post a day, but that’s a good thing, right?!

20140414-090027.jpg

Day 2: dinner with mom and dad at Olive Garden!

my puppy Cooper

Day 3: my puppy Cooper

20140414-090058.jpg

Day 4: dinner at King Crab and concert with Kit and friends at Joe’s Bar

20140414-090106.jpg

Day 5: River floating on a sunny Saturday

20140414-090117.jpg

Day 6: best grilled cheese ever! cheese, ham, bacon, tomato

In case you can’t tell, I had a very busy weekend! Kit and I stayed downtown on Friday to see Colt Ford at Joe’s with my friend Kasia and her boyfriend. We went to King Crab in Lincoln Park. I had been there once before with Victoria when we lived down there. Walking down Halsted toward it was a blast from the past! I wanted to stop by and see my old place, but we didn’t. It was so crazy being back there. Kit and I split king crab legs. They were good, but definitely not as good as the ones we had in Florida at Cooters! We walked to Joe’s from there. I had a really good time, but I don’t remember much of the music! In the morning, there was a sheet of paper under our door at the hotel. I thought it was a bill so I picked it up and read it. It said due to the inconvenience of not having hot water during your stay, we would like to offer you one of the following: 100% refund for your night or 50% off your night and a future night for free! They were also having a free breakfast from 9 – 12. We didn’t stick around for that, though. So we weren’t even inconvenienced and we got a free night’s stay! We went with option #2. The weather was beautiful when we got home on Saturday! We took the kayaks and canoes out. I was in Kit’s new kayak. It was hard to paddle because it was so windy. We were on the river for about 3 hours and usually that’s all it takes us. We decided to throw in the paddle (haha get it?) around 4 and the boys walked back to the car while me and Lindsay stayed with the gear. Kit bought me one of those backpacks you can drink water out of. I really liked it! It’s nice to have on a trip like that. I also liked it because there were a few other pockets that I could put my phone, money and snacks in!  We went back to the house briefly to drop everything off then we tried to go to Rowdy’s for burgers, but 3 of their 5 tables were reserved for a party and the bar was full so we stopped by Johnny’s instead. He was having a party for the Masters golf tournament. We had a few drinks and some snacks. It was fun to see everyone. They had been drinking for a while. We went to Mike & Denise’s after that for pizza and cod nibs! We hadn’t had the cod nibbles in so long! They are out of this world! We got a thin crust pizza with pepperoni, mushroom, tomato, garlic and tomato. I think I picked out all the toppings the first time and now we just go with it. It’s delicious! Lindsay, Kit and Dave had a bonfire after that, but I went straight to the basement and fell asleep. Kayaking wore me out! On Sunday, Kit and I took Jessie for a 2 mile run and then hopped on bikes and did another 5 miles or so! It felt good to get outside and be active. We spent a few more hours outside with Jessie and I worked on the HJ Pokorny website a little. Have you seen it? Check it out here! We all went to Rowdy’s for lunch where we bumped into Johnny and a few guys from the Masters party. Rowdy’s has such good food. I gave them 5 stars on Yelp!  Everyone got a burger and I got the grilled cheese pictured above. On Saturdays, their special is are grilled cheese and tomato soup and $4 Angry Orchards. Exactly what I get there! We went back to the house and I fell asleep while they watched the Masters ha and then Kit had to drive me home. My mom made chicken parmesan for dinner. It was really good! Kit stuck around for an episode of Bar Rescue and then went home. I went to bed shortly after. What a weekend! My body hurts.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

