Lwoods4's Blog

Posted on: September 30, 2014

I did it again, I always seem to go months without posting anything! I have been meaning to get to it, though. I wrapped up my 100 happy days stint a while ago and what I learned was that I love food. and dogs. Many of my posts were of these. It was sometimes a challenge to remember to post something that made me happy, but ultimately I think the challenge was a big success for me and I learned to appreciate the little things like sunshine or flowers. I will have to come back and post more of the images where I left off. I also wanted to do a post on how thankful I am and grateful. I know sometimes we make fun of people who use #blessed and that’s not what I’m going for, but I have a full life with people I love, organizations I care about, family, friends, work, etc. I am very lucky to be where I am today, but everything is still a learning process. I started doing 5 minute positive meditations in the morning. I think this is something I had been wanting to do, but wasn’t quite ready.  You can’t force these things. I saw this secret and thought it summed up my new found clarity perfectly.

secret

Also, as I have mentioned, I volunteer for the Almost Home Foundation. We had our Running 4 Rescue event on Sunday. It was a 5k walk or 3k run. My sister’s fiance got 2nd place in the run which was fun and exciting! However, what I found the most wonderful of the day was that a little girl, maybe 7 years old collected dontations for us and raised $250. She put check after check into our donation bucket at the registation table. How sweet! I thought that was so nice and I wish I had thanked her more. She was adorable and how caring of her to take the time to raise money for our cause. It was so sweet! Overall, the event was a success! It was stressful and crazy, but a great learning experience and a fun time. I think the participants really enjoyed it and we raised a bunch of money which is great! For more info, visit almosthomefoundation.org

10653863_10202987260659717_2689366356343139729_n 1509678_575760159214087_4233600217255313877_n

Here’s a short video of clips I took from the event.

http://www.magisto.com/embed/blVGNEIXBzMtDkVnCzE

Leave a Reply

  • BFF: LOVE this post. The third picture is my favorite and really resonates with me. Instead of comparing our lives to those of others, we should be immense
  • Cindy Friesen: Im so glad you are having fun! I cant wait to see pictures! Have you had a Paini yet or a Crepe?! How about Tapas and Paella? Or Sangria!!!! Are you g
  • Kiersten Trillhaase: You can have this AND a Mastiff or Great Dane, but you cannot choose it over the other dogs- I will not let you. P.S. Love the post about skyping

Categories

